Light sensitive layer of the eye, consisting of four major layers including the outer neural layer which contains nerve cells and blood vessels, the photoreceptor layer which is a single layer containing light sensing rods and cones, the pigmented retinal epithelium, and the choroid which consists of connective tissues and capillaries.

RETINA: "The retina is the light sensing portion of the eye."
Cite this page: N., Pam M.S., "RETINA," in, April 28, 2013, (accessed October 20, 2021).